Media Release – SLAV President – December 8th, 2020

Media release – School Library Association of Victoria (SLAV)

• 2020 Awards
• 60th Year – Collegiality, Partnerships and Showcasing Best Practice


We acknowledge and celebrate the winners for our 2020 Awards.

Penny Geoghegan Award
Lynn Swannell, Librarian, Mount Eliza Secondary College
for her dedication to the local branch and wider networks of the profession and her continued collegiate support of her colleagues.

Innovators Award
Bridget Forster, Teacher-Librarian, Strathcona Baptist Girls’ Grammar School
In recognition of The Independent Learning Project – a skills-based enrichment activity developed for remote learning.

Research Fellowship
Luke Featherston, Learning Leader, Resource Centre Manager, Trinity College Colac
For efforts to improve literacy skills through the development of a homework wide reading program.

School Leaders Award
Peter Houlihan, Principal, De La Salle College
In recognition of his outstanding and ongoing support of the reinvigoration of school library services at De La Salle College.

John Ward Award
Julie Pagliaro, Head of Libraries, St Kevin’s College
In recognition of her outstanding contribution to the profession of teacher librarianship.

The awards were presented online by the SLAV President, Di Ruffles, at our virtual conference on Friday November 27. This conference was the culmination of a year of change and new learning as the association moved to support members effectively and safely, exploring possibilities that supported and inspired our learning communities.

• Collegiality, Partnerships and Showcasing Best Practice

During 2020, the associations 60th year, the School Library Association of Victoria has sought to remain connected, use technology effectively and strengthen partnerships.

In response to the restricted environment SLAV aimed to be agile and creative. The association Modified and changed much of our professional learning program. This included:

Creating an Online Book Club for the sharing of ideas around student reading during the first pivot to remote learning. The lists created by this large and active group were then shared more widely on SLAVConnects. This relaxed online offering was collegiate and timely.

Expanding our Masterclass series online to include a series on Library Design with consultant Kevin Hennah, a masterclass on LibGuides – a curation tool for the dissemination of online resources, and a Masterclass on Media Literacy featuring Misha Ketchell, Managing Director of The Conversation.

Creating a Picture Book Showcase online exploring the work of Graeme Base, Anna Walker and Jess McGeachin and featuring the Wilderness Society’s Environment prize for Children’s Literature.

In partnership with Association colleagues in NSW (SLANSW), offering a webinar entitled Practical Preparedness: Dealing with Compounding Disasters to assist regional school libraries to prepare for the possibility of fire and flood.

In partnership with the Languages and Multicultural Education Resource Centre (LMERC) offering an online masterclass entitled: Powering Learning: Supporting Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander perspectives featuring keynote Professor Marcia Langton.

In partnership with LMERC, Stella Schools, and the teaching association VicTESOL, presenting online the: Culturally Diverse Literature Professional Learning Series

To end our 60th year we held our November Conference: The Power of Reading online and in partnership with the National Education Summit offered a day showcasing best practice in school libraries with featured speakers Ursula Dubosarsky, Australian Children’s Laureate, the Deakin University Teen Reading Research Project and guest creators Saroo and Sue Brierley. This day experimented with a virtual trade exhibition and interactive gamification.

Our sixtieth year has been a year of challenge, of experimentation and learning. We wish to celebrate our award winners and also the achievements of our innovative and proactive professional community in a time of change and opportunity.

For further information please contact:
Dianne Ruffles
School Library Association of Victoria

Dr Susan La Marca
Executive Officer
School Library Association of Victoria
0477 439 593

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *